Skip to Content

Partnership for 21st Century Skills

NEA is a founding member of the Partnership for 21st Century Skills, a national advocacy organization that encourages schools, districts, and states to infuse technology into education -- and provides tools and resources to facilitate that effort.

The six elements of 21st century learning are:

  • Emphasize core subjects
  • Emphasize learning skills
  • Use 21st century tools to develop learning skills
  • Teach and learn in a 21st century context
  • Teach and learn new 21st century content
  • Use 21st century assessments that measure core subjects and 21st century skills

The partnership, chaired by NEA Executive Director John Wilson, includes a range of business partners (Time Warner, Ford, Microsoft, Cisco Systems, Dell, Verizon, SAS, and more), various education-related organizations (American Association of School Librarians, American Federation of Teachers, Educational Testing Service, Pearson Education, and others), foundations (Intel Foundation and Oracle Education Foundation) and media groups (Corporation for Public Broadcasting, Cable in the Classroom, and more). Visit the Partnership for 21st Century Skills Web site  for a full list of partners.

Resources Developed by the Partnership

Related Link


  • An Educator’s Guide to the “Four Cs”
    Four specific skills are most important for preparing students to succeed in the 21st Century: critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity. NEA developed this guide to help K-12 educators incorporate these ideas into their instruction.