Skip to Content

Our Leaders

NEA members nationwide set Association policy, most notably through an annual Representative Assembly (RA) that convenes an Annual Meeting every July. NEA members at the state and local level elect the more than 9,000 RA delegates who, in turn, elect NEA's top officers, debate issues, and set NEA policy. Between Annual Meetings, the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee are NEA's top decision-making bodies.

Our Leaders


Lily Eskelsen García is president of the National Education Association, the nation’s largest labor union. Lily began her career in education as a school lunch lady and now leads a professional association of three million educators.

Our Leaders

Vice President

Becky Pringle, vice president of the National Education Association, is a middle school science teacher with 31 years of classroom experience, and has distinguished herself as a thoughtful, passionate advocate for educators and students.

Our Leaders


Princess R. Moss, an elementary school music teacher from Louisa County, Va., is secretary-treasurer of the National Education Association, the nation's largest professional organization.

Our Leaders

Executive Director

Kim A. Anderson, a national leader in the fight to transform America's public schools, is the executive director of the National Education Association.

Our Leaders

Executive Committee

The nine-member Executive Committee is comprised of our three executive officers and six members elected at large by delegates to the Representative Assembly.

Our Leaders

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors includes at least one director from each state affiliate, as well as representatives from both the Retired and Student members of our Association.


Invite an NEA leader to speak at your event.